It is 8 days into the new year, 2013 and I realize I haven’t made any resolutions for 2013. Then again I haven’t made any new year’s resolutions since about 15 years ago. For starters, my resolutions were always the same…….be a better person than I was last year, make my parents more proud of me, live a healthier more meaningful life and some other related hullabaloo.

Secondly, I am too good at procrastinating, in fact wonderful, so I decided those many years ago that I would never wait until the beginning of the year to make resolutions, to effect changes in my life. If I were to resolve to do anything, then I was going to do it as soon as possible and so far so good. Like the year I decided to enroll for French lessons, which I unfortunately never got to finish “merci”, but I will go back. The spur of the moment decision I took to join toastmasters, a feat I am ever so proud of, but also which I am to go back to and progress through the ranks. What about choosing to join gym in October? A big hand of applause to me!

Nonetheless at the end of the year, I always look back to the year that was and count its blessings. And 2012 was indeed a great year overall. It could have been much better, but I am not complaining. To God be the Glory for the year 2012 and all the love and gifts he brought;

The gift of life, new and old.

The gift of love and bliss from my 1 year and 11 months old marriage.

The gift of all things one normally takes for granted, a job, shelter, clothes, friends,

But what are the lessons I learnt in 2012?

That dreams do indeed come true, with a bit of hard work and patience towards realizing them.

That life is short, very short and definitely not in anyone’s hands but God’s

That I am still the kitchen Goddess I was back in my teens.

That I should not expect anything from people, and therefore not hold grudges because they will disappoint.

That my definition of sexiness is no longer in my belly ring, my tattoos, the flat of my stomach or the length of my skirts or shorts. Sexiness is now on the little bulge of my stomach for what it has achieved, the extra softness of my boobs after nurturing a young man for nine (9) months thus far and that extra centimeter on the hem of my pencil skirt.

That people can change. I can change from being a selfish dreamer to a serious homemaker, kids and all.

That I am becoming more intolerant of fake nails, weaves and all other related stuff. I just pray I don’t regress to a barefoot, once a month bath, forest foraging type of woman, in rebellion of all these “developments”.

That being a crap analyst is not such a bad job after all.Well provided the subject matter is my son’s!

Having said this, cheers to 2012 and welcome to 2013 with all its lessons…. let’s shine bright like diamonds (I love-love Rihanna’s current hit)

