Friday, February 15th it is. The day after Valentine’s Day.

I’m still reeling from the entire Valentine’s messages and paraphernalia I was confronted by wherever I went or looked yesterday.

Lipstick.What Lipstick?

Lipstick.What Lipstick?

I tried many times yesterday to post something about the day and what it means to me, but I could not find the words or meaning. And I still find myself in a daze 24 hours later. All I know is that, as much as I do not fully understand it, I do not want to be about it. I do not want to be caught up in the Valentines madness. I certainly do not want the pressure of having to cook elaborate meals for my husband on the day. The idea of dressing up to the nines to go out to exclusive and possibly extravagant restaurants, along with a million other couples drives me up the wall. If i could, i would erase the day off my calendar.

I surprise my husband with elaborate meals often enough. And he does his bit in the gift department, even if it’s just buying me my favourite orange flavoured popsickle he picked up on his way past the convenient store at a filling station…. and I am forever greatful for the small gestures.

Yes, I have come to learn that Valentine’s day is not only for lovers, but a day for wishing love to everyone around us. I choose to wish them love on every other day…..except on February 14.
I hope I do not come across as bitter about the day, because I really am not. I just don’t like the sillyness of it all.

Hopefully one day, I will give myself a minute to find out and get to understand and know fully and truthfully what the day is about and embrace it. But i am nonetheless greatful for the beautiful orchid my husband woke me up with.

My beautiful Orchid

My beautiful Orchid

Until then….Lots of love to all!

