I Do!

I Do!

Today, February 19 2013, marks our second (2nd) wedding anniversary. Two years ago, in front of hundreds of family members and friends, we exchanged our vows, ‘til death us do part. This was 23 months after our first encounter in March of 2009. A meeting which still leaves me dumbfounded to this day.

19 February 2011

19 February 2011

19 February 2013

19 February 2013

On this fateful day in March 2009, my parents were invited to a family friend’swedding. I obviously wasn’t and not bothered. My plans for that chilly, rainy day were to read and sleep, since I still had some flu remnants in me. My mother, who was worried, almost sick with my boyfriend less self, nudged me to attend the wedding with them and I was resisting. You see, in African culture, wherever you see smoke, it’s a sign of a gathering and food, plenty of food and one isn’t allowed to pass by without stopping by for the festivities, so it would not necessarily be rude of me to attend the wedding uninvited. Except we are now not as pure in our culture as we were hundreds of years ago, after the Westerners’ colonized us and left us some of their culture. Amongst which is that, first one has to respect themselves and others, by not showing up at functions…….. uninvited. A point which I tried, repeatedly to point out to my mother, and she relentlessly trying to “ignore” me.

On the day in question, I gave in and tagged along, mind you I did not even have an inkling of what either the bride or groom looked like. But God had a much a better plan. At the wedding I met up with some friends of mine, who were relatives of the bride. And at our table, four other people came to join us; 2 couples to be precise. All was well, lots of vibrant conversation, lots of wine making rounds and eventually I left for home after what had been, not a bad day considering I had had no plans of going anywhere.

A few days later I received a call from one friend of mine, asking for permission to give her cousin my numbers; one of the four people that had joined us at our table. After much interrogation, I gave the numbers and whoa, as they say, “the rest is history”, the cousin is now my husband and father to my gummy ball of sunshine.

The point of this story however is divine intervention. What divine intervention you ask? In August of 2008, I was nominated for a Masters degree in taxation scholarship, in Japan at a prestigious business school in Kyoto. All went well until at the last minute, when things hit a brick wall. Long story, however, had the plan succeeded, I would have left on the two (2) year scholarship on the very day that I met my now husband. And to say him and I hit it off perfectly would be an understatement.
The second mystery of the day was that, earlier that rainy Saturday morning, a friend of mine and I had been exchanging sms’s and at one point he asked. When do you think you will get married? Considering I was 29 at the time, I responded, “I obviously have no clue but I’d rather it be later than sooner, even after 40, I’ll be happy. I will not get married until and unless God sends a decent, beautiful human being my way, one worthy of my hand, meantime my life is all about me and him, God”. I remember him saying something luvly about 27 dresses (the movie) although I can’t remember what it was.

Life Changed Forever

The long and short of this is that, God does answer prayers, if we just utterly submit to him and have faith in what he has in store for us and his timing. Secondly and most importantly, I am grateful for the gift of a wonderful, loving and kind husband he gave me and I pray that we continue to communicate as openly and lovingly as we always do and that our days together our infinite and abundantly blessed.

Ooh, the person I had though was his partner on the day, turned out to be his younger sister. The mother to the bundle of joy I made mention of in my previous post, hahahaha.

Happy 2nd Anniversary my sweetness, Mcwaaaaaaaah!

