Excerpts of this book and comments have left me salivating for more. It sounds like an excellent read, by a remarkable woman, so it is most definitely going on my “books to buy” list. I am all for women representing me as a woman in the higher echelons of the corporate world. I admire and respect them for their daring choices and vision;that of putting women on the capable-respectable-and professional map, carving a way for future generations of women.

Being in the corporate world myself (however low my rank might be)running a family, a little side business and all else in between, I personally choose to be “passive” or even selfish if you may, sit on the sidelines and loudly cheer women like Ms Sandberg because I don’t have the guts to do what she does, dealing with the attitudes, arrogance and cut throat nature of the position she is in. But most importantly, unlike her i would not be able to leave my week old baby home because I had to go run the world, no matter what. There now,is where I draw the line, SERIOUSLY. I love and respect my career and love making meaningful contributions towards growth of the organization, but My ultimate joy and sense of achievement lies in knowing that I did my best to take care of my loved ones, spending as much times as i possibly can with them, connecting and doing things together.

Having said that, much respect to her. The world needs more women of courage and power like her.

The Purpose of Work

Lean InIt has been hailed as a turning point in the feminist debate. It has also been written off as an apology for Big Business. And everything in-between. Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead has created the media whirlwind that its author intended in her quest to disrupt the status quo.

One hesitates to add yet more words to those column inches. But there’s an important connection that seems to have been overlooked. It’s why this fine book is ultimately flawed.

And it is a fine book. Sandberg may be wildly rich, absurdly well-connected and bossy – but it’s easy to like her [just watch her TED talk]. She’s clever and sincere and kind and, in some places, LOL funny. And she’s trying to be a peacemaker: “The gender wars need an immediate and lasting peace”, she writes.

Lean In is helpful. It abounds with nudges…

View original post 1,008 more words

