Saturday 13 April 2013 marked my son’s FIRST birthday. His very first birthday, of hundreds more to come. Granted he is the epitome of a happy child and definitely a morning person,unlike mommy dearest.He woke up with the biggest smile and the most infectious two-toothed grin and giggle,as if he understood that it was indeed a special day, for him,his daddy and I.

True to my pedantic and obsessive DIY self, I opted to make him his very own birthday cake instead of picking one off the shelf or placing an order at the local bakery. And I must say, weeks of practicing the fondant paid off really well, although decorating skills are still lagging behind.

For the cake, I opted to make the Lemon sponge cake:
250g Unsalted butter
250g Golden caster sugar
4 Beaten eggs
250g Self raising flour
finely grated rind of 1 lemon
3 tbsp milk,……..Except I doubled all the quantities

For the butter icing:
140g Unsalted butter
200g Icing sugar
2tbsp lemon liqueur

And for the cake filling,some lemon curd. Not forgetting some highly improvised royal icing for the edges.

Did i say yummy????
imageimage
imageimage
The boy should thank me on the “unique” birthday cake aaaaand hours and tons of love put into the creation.

And with only the birthday boy and a handful of his cousins to celebrate the birthday,it was a happy day indeed. Happy birthday muntjus, mommy and daddy love you.
image

