Today’s daily prompt; What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD  or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to you?

 All my life, my days have been defined by music. Old music, new music, neo soul, jazz, pop,folk, short, tall name it, i listen to it. I always say, “if it moves me, bring it on”. And once in a while there comes a song, whose melodies, whose lyrics just speak to one’s entire being, creeps up underneath the fibre of your being and takes over like a demon that refuses to be exorcised.

 

My demon of choice is “Beneath your Beautiful” by Labrinth , featuring Emeli Sande. What this British duo has achieved in this song surpasses my understanding and leaves me utterly speechless.

I cannot put my finger on what exactly it is about the song that throws me off my axis and into orbit like that, and since i know nothing about the language of music, i’m rendered even more useless, but if i may try, maybe it’s the the tempo of the song, the accapella kind of effect, the artist’s individuals voices and the way they weave into each others………aaaaaah, orgasmic. but the words of the song are the cherry on the cake. True love exemplified;When someone can ask you to do away with all the make up ,all the facade, all the pretentiousness for them to love you, now there’s no greater beauty, or love.

i first heard this song about 5 months ago, and i still don’ t tire of hearing it, i have it on repeat on my ipd for minutes on end and i cannot get enough.

William Shakeaspeare said it best when he said, “if music be the food of love, play on, give me excess of it”

