“Winter, Spring, Summer of Fall….All you gotta do is call, and I’ll be there yes I will, you’ve got a friend oh yes”, #singing#.

I found myself singing this song. I cannot for the life of me remember who the artist is, but it’s one of those tracks I grew up on and it got me wondering what my favourite season was.Over the years, I have been confused between Winter and Summer, because of course Spring is the winner, with autumn in hot pursuit. But of the two extremes, which one is best?

I love summer for its warmth, the brightness of clothes, swimming outdoors, picnics, the lush green lawns,dining al-fresco, the light and vibrant foods.Summer is just a pleasant season all around, except for the few days where the African sun may decide to come out fully and play, scorching any and everything in its path.

 

Winter also has its perks; sitting in front of the fireplace,the cuddles, endless cups of hot beverages (coffee, hot chocolate, tea), the super elegance and simplicity of clothing, coats and high heeled boots and the beauty of the whiteness of the snow (on the rare occassion when we get to experience it in the lowlands. The chill factor and the huge expense it rakes in its wake however, are definitely huge turns off for me.

Snow capped Maluti Mountains. Photo by Jaco van Tonder

Snow capped Maluti Mountains. Photo by Jaco van Tonder

Spring morning in Lesotho.Photo by Tessa Joughin

Spring morning in Lesotho.Photo by Tessa Joughin

Frozen waterfall.Photo by Tessa Joughin

Frozen waterfall.Photo by Tessa Joughin


With Fall upon us and Winter slowly creeping in now in the Southern Hemisphere, and after much deliberations throughhout the years about what my favourite season is, I have finally come to the conclusion and acceptance that Summer is the overall winner.

I should just work hard and explore the idea of migrating to the North everytime we have Winter down here. I really am not looking forward to the next few months.

http://www.pbase.com/tessajoughin/lesotho__mountain_kingdom

