He is the sweetest, kindest and most thoughtful person I know, puts me to shame all the damn time. And two months back when I broke the news that it looks like we will not be able to attend the Johannesburg International Motor Show, JIMS as it’s fondly known by enthusiats, I could see the blood drain from his pale-black face.And it broke my heart.But the truth of the matter was, we were broke as church mice,and dipping into our credit cards for this sort of thing was just not an option. As a matter of principle, none of us even broached the subject.

The show is hosted once every two (2) years and we have known since our last visit in October 2011 (when I had a cute little 3 months pregnancy bump) that we were definitely returning,in 2013. Ooopsie.

Being the financial Minister of our household, along with a million other portfolios I have been “assigned”, I made a mistake.I overspent,under budgeted and most terribly,I didn’t do my projections/forecasts right. And our situation was made bad, mainly due to funds that were being diverted to our shoe business, unfortunately leaving our household finances in tatters.

But truly speaking, in my defence, the whole truth and nothing but…. it was the weak Dollar-Exchange rate that threw me, us and our finances to the bottom of this dark abyss, in the end leaving us a little strapped for cash, especially when it came to “luxuries” like JIMS. The next few months looked a little too blurry for my liking.

But lady luck had a change of heart. The second consignment for our private label is due to leave the Brazilian factory next week, cash is ready, both for the 70% release and for all the heinous taxes and duties, PLUS we have a windfall, some odd little spare change to actually go indulge in one of our favourite pasttimes alone without baby, ok not baby anymore, the just turned 18-month-old-law-unto-himself-little-man. Fewer things give more pleasure than seeing my husband’s face light up, baring  teeth and all, and seeing the imaginary wag of his tail at the sight of something he adores, or in this case, something good he hears, as I calmly broke the good news to him. “Sweetness, I know we have plans this weekend, but if you are game, we could abandon those,do JIMS instead, in and out on Saturday since it’s starting On Friday”.

Not toothy a smile, but the kind of cheer that melts my heart!JIMS 2011

Not toothy a smile, but the kind of cheer that melts my heart!JIMS 2011

The reaction was priceless; A sudden jerk of the head, a bashful smile followed by a serious wrinkling of the face in disbelief as he tried to search the sincerety,or lack thereof on my face, not wanting to get too excited lest I was pulling a prank on him (his style not mine, by the way), but after I explained that 1.The dollar-rand exchange rate is now favourable to us, 2. Some of our savings came through and 3. The shop was able to raise enough money to pay for its own taxes and duties, after an awfully dry and depressing winter…. he gave me that  8 year-old-boy-mischievous-sunbeam-smile and I knew we were on. Yaaaay, happy days, happy days.

So with that ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls. My husband and I are driving to Johannesburg this coming Saturday, to see how the other half live, or in this case, how they get from point A to B while the rest of us drool to no end.

A few of the machines from the 2011 show……

I never got  its name, but I call it the Beemer Spaceship.

I never got its name, but I call it the Beemer Spaceship.

The BMW 650i..#sigh#

The BMW 650i..#sigh#

The Audi R8 GT.I fell in love with the R8 on Ironman and the love still runs deep..

The Audi R8 GT.I fell in love with the R8 on Ironman and the love still runs deep..

The Audi E-tron.....Wooow!

The Audi E-tron…..Wooow!

Yip.That's me and my barely there bump....In awe of this German machine!

Yip.That’s me and my barely there bump….In awe of this German machine!

